Home > Diagnostics > Diagnostic staff

Diagnostic staff

These are our diagnostic staff, their roles, and their interests:


Associate Professor Diana Hardie
Head of the Diagnostic Laboratory, molecular biology of Hepatitis B virus

Dr Marvin Hsiao
Clinical Virology, cytomegalovirus and molecular diagnostics

Dr Stephen Korsman
Clinical Virology, Hepatitis B/E, molecular diagnostics, and outreach


Dr Heidi Smuts
Hepatitis B/C; Novel respiratory viruses

Associate Professor Jo-Ann Passmore
HIV/HPV Immunology


Dr Akram Ibrahim

Dr Gert Marais

Dr Michelle Naidoo

Laboratory Manager

Zaheer Isaacs