Home > Awards > Colin Kaplan Prize

Colin Kaplan Prize

The Colin Kaplan Prize is awarded annually for young researchers whose research shows the highest impact.  It aims to recognize leadership and excellence. The award is a bequest from the estate of Professor Colin Kaplan.

Colin Kaplan (1920 – 2012) went to the University of Cape Town where he completed his MBChB. After internships at the University’s Groote Schuur Teaching Hospital he became a lecturer in the Department of Pathology, until the 1948 introduction of apartheid legislation by South Africa’s nationalist government persuaded him to take his family to England. He was appointed lecturer in the bacteriology department at University College Hospital and then as a bacteriologist at the Lister Institute of Preventive Medicine, he pioneered a programme to accelerate the production of freeze dried smallpox vaccine, becoming head of the virus vaccine department.  As a member of the WHO scientific committee on smallpox, he oversaw the global eradication of the disease in 1977. He remains highly regarded as one of the two founding editors of the Journal of General Virology in 1967.
(Adapted from obituaries in the BMJ and JGV).



Dr Gama Bandawe for the research published in "Differences in HIV type 1 neutralization breadth in 2 geographically distinct cohorts in Africa", Journal of Infectious Diseases 211(9):1461-6, on November 14, 2014.


Dr Colin Anthony for the research published in "Viral variants that initiate and drive maturation of V1V2-directed HIV-1 broadly neutralizing antibodies", Nature Medicine 21(11):1332-6 in November 2015.


Lindi Masson for her exceptional work on genital inflammation and HIV risk in young women. Lindi has performed outstandingly in this area: she has published her work in high impact papers (for example two in Clinical Infectious Diseases, impact factor 8.8, in the last 2 years); has patented a device to detect inflammation recently awarded R5.7 million to evaluate this device in a clinical trial.


Anna Happel received the Colin Kaplan Award for the young investigator in Virology who has made the greatest impact. Anna published two probiotics manuscripts in 2017, has received Medicines Control Council approval to run a clinical trial on the use of Vagiforte® Plus probiotic for treatment of bacterial vaginosis (BV) and has evaluated novel probiotic Lactobacillus spp. candidates for treating BV.


Daniel Sheward received the Colin Kaplan Award for his seminal paper on HIV superinfection:
HIV Superinfection Drives De Novo Antibody Responses and Not Neutralization Breadth.
Daniel J. Sheward, Jinny Marais, Valerie Bekker, Ben Murrell, Kemal Eren, Jinal N. Bhiman, Molati Nonyane, Nigel Garrett, Zenda L. Woodman, Quarraisha Abdool Karim, Salim S. Abdool Karim, Lynn Morris, Penny L. Moore, and Carolyn Williamson.
Cell Host Microbe. 2018;24(4):593-599.e3.